Copyright Questions

I’m quite picky about copyright, and I always try to obey copyright laws when I make films of games, and I point out copyright infringement to others when they do it. (ALL the time. It’s like you can’t get more than 20 hits on YouTube without infringing copyright). Luckily, I can break copyright laws all I want in school, because UK copyright laws say you can use anyone’s work for educational use. (I hope this includes the teachers’ Powerpoints, or the school will have to pay a lot of fines). I think there’s also a law that you can’t be fined if you don’t make a profit from it, but I still don’t like to do it.
I’ve read up on copyright, but I’m still left with many, many questions (I think even the law’s a bit fuzzy on what’s allowed and what’s not). Here are my copyright queries I need answered:

When making a film or game is it necessary to give credit to the software you used (such as Adobe Premiere Pro)?
(edit: No. Well,  I guess there might be a clause like that in the user agreement you overlooked, but I doubt it)

If I went to a gallery took a picture of a copyrighted picture which was on display, would I own the copyright (on the photo)?
(edit: Only if the painter has been dead for 70 years or more, I think)

What about a screenshot of a picture on a website?

If I was to perform a piece of music myself and record it, would I own the copyright to the recording?

Does a composer own the recording of their music or the actual written music or the combination of notes?

What happens to a piece of work’s copyright if the author is unknown?

Is copyright infringement legal if the user doesn’t make a profit?
(edit: There’s all that vague ‘fair use’ stuff)

What can you do if people make money from your work?
(edit: Take them to court under the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act)

Are short phrases like “Doctor Who” or titles like ‘Adobe Premiere Pro’ subject to copyright?
(edit: I’m pretty sure you can mention them all you like, but you can’t brand something using those names, because they’re registered trademarks)

Is it legal to upload to the internet a video containing uninvolved people in the background and is their permission required?
(edit: That’s not a copyright question, is it? I still don’t know the answer to this one)

Can I record myself playing a videogame and put it on YouTube because it was rendered on my machine?
(edit: YouTube has rules about this. Silly rules, such as – it has to have a commentary, and you can’t profit from it. Gaming partner networks get around this by giving the publishers a cut of the revenue)

If a piece of work was created in the UK but contains copyrighted elements created in the USA, is it necessary to follow the copyright laws of both countries?
(edit: To be safe, yes)

Is a licence required to distribute your work as royalty free?
(edit: I think you can just borrow a Creative Commons licensing symbol – you don’t have to register, or anything)

About Matt

I love technology, especially videogames, and prefer creating media to consuming it. On the topic of consumption, I also like food. I am hard working and like to think I'm good at writing interesting posts.
This entry was posted in My work, Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Copyright Questions

  1. Steve says:

    This is a really great website. The layout and design is very easy to navigate and the info is superb. Keep up the good work!!!!

Enter comment:

